One Tenth Finished

Posted on March 28, 2009. Filed under: Random Observations | Tags: , , , , , , , , |

Over the past few days, I’ve been thinking about what the first tenth of the 70×7 Project has been like and what I’ve learned from the project overall.

The first thing I think I’ve learned is that change is good. One of the biggest changes has been on my overall focus. When I do a task, I try to focus on what I am working on without distraction. I’m getting more done and I’m feeling better about what I am accomplishing.

I’ve also learned that it’s okay to change things up so that it works for you. While there are things that you have to do just because they need to be done (paying the bills, doing the laundry, taking out the trash, etc), if you are doing a fun “project” (or even a work project) and something isn’t working, don’t be afraid to change it or try a new way to approach the problem. I probably wouldn’t have stayed with the 70×7 Project if I hadn’t changed the parameters of the project so it works with the life I lead and supports the things I want to accomplish.

There’s been a few unintended results in this little project of mine as well. I’m doing a better job of separating work time from play time in that if I’m working, I’m usually on the computer, and if I’m playing, I’m out doing something instead of sitting on my bum when I get home. That’s been good for me because it means I’m being more active overall and any extra activity helps with weight loss.

Another unintended benefit is that the intention I am living with at home, is carrying over into my work life as well. I’m more focused on the task at hand there and I’m getting more done, which I am sure makes my boss happy. I’m sure my buddies on the boards I frequent have noticed that I’m not on as much and this is why.

The largest unintended benefit is has come with tracking my money and accounting for how I am spending it. While I knew at some level I was spending a lot of money on food, I didn’t realize how much until I started writing it down. It’s gotten to the point where I’m a bit mortified whenever I had to write that down and it has forced me to really look at the hows and whys of my food consumption. Slowly this little food habit of mine is changing but it’s going to take some time, because I’ve had 41 years of practice getting it into place.

Spiritually, the project is going well. I think one thing that has revealed to me is how selfish my prayers can be. I was flipping back through my journal entries and I was surprised at how many prayers where about what I want/desire. But there are more conversational prayers where I actually talk with God about how I am feeling about something getting added to the mix, along with prayers for others.

Reading the Bible sequentially has been interesting. I find that when I am getting very frustrated with something in one book, the next book usually has the application for that item that is frustrating me. It gives me an Ah-ha moment on a regular basis.

The biggest thing I’ve learned over the last 7 weeks is that living with intention takes effort. Even if I only accomplish one thing a day, it’s okay. But that effort carries over into all areas of my life.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

