March 23 – Day 48

Posted on March 24, 2009. Filed under: Daily Summary |

Health
Exercise – 1.5 hours of working in the garden and playing with Durl
2 servings of fruit – yes
5 servings of veggies – yes
2-3 servings of whole grains and legumes – yes
Drink at least 64 oz of water a day – yes
Sleep – 7.5 hours of very sound sleep – working in the garden 4 days in a row will do that to ya. I did have some wierd dreams last night, but nothing that really disturbed me.

Home
Thoughtful spending – $933.70 – The majority of that was my GSL payment. I’ll be glad when I’m done with that. Also went to Lowes to get some garden soil to amend into the new garden plot. That soil is very very sandy and needs a little more structure to it. Lowe’s had a $10 off $50 coupon, so I walked out of there for around $46 with TTL. The rest is for eating out. If it rains like they say over the next few days, I’m going to be stuck inside.

20 minutes of house work – Too busy in the garden. Rain in the forecast for the next few days so I should get lots of stuff done.

Spiritual
Bible Reading – yes
Prayer – yes –

Creativity
Photography Related – Yes – took pictures
Daily Writing – no

Self Care
Do something nice for me – Soaked in the tub
Don’t Procrastinate – Went back over to the Garden last night and worked on getting the grass roots cleaned out of the new bed.

Notes:
Hauling bags of dirt to amend the soil was a bit of a chore, but I feel accomplished in having gotten it done. I am glad that I got the gardening stuff taken care of last night since it might rain tonight. But if it doesn’t rain, I’ll be back out there tonight putting the soil on and tilling it in.

Last night on the way home, I heard Delilah recommending about how someone who is feeling down should garden, and I have to say, I think she’s right. I love the focus and the time to think gardening has given me. I love the sense of accomplishment it gives me to see my veggies growning and it all tastes good when I eat them.

It also keeps me away from the computer and I’m okay with that. I’ve spent far too much time in front of the computer at my job and at home and it affects a lot of things – housekeeping, my health, my sleep.

One thing that I have noticed – and it’s a bad habit that I thought I had licked – is that I’m using food as a reward. I’ve gardened hard so I deserve _______. I’ve _________ so why not get _______. Need to stop that habit.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

