Demon Dreams – Or Why I Don’t Watch Scary Movies

Posted on March 13, 2009. Filed under: Daily Summary |

I have never been a fan of scary movies. I really don’t like them. Part of the reason is that when I have bad dreams, my dreams are scary enough for me that I don’t feel the need to supplement my waking hours with things like Friday the 13th, Freddy Kruger, or the various variations of the Saw Movies. Who needs them when you dream about demons on a regular basis??

DSC_7736

Triceratops from the Houston Museum of Natural Science and History


Although I said the demon dreams started a few years back, when I think about it, they actually started a little over 15 years ago. I can remember waking up in my sleep and feeling like something was sitting on my chest and pinching and poking me. And of course I can’t move or have problems speaking in these dreams. Between those dreams and the dream about the prince riding the a town and there’s a collection of body parts (including babies) in a basket waiting to be eaten – that was enough for me to stop watching scary movies. Why do I need them when my mind can come up with stuff that’s way worse??

While the last demon dream wasn’t too bad – the demon in the dream had horns kind of like a triceratops – the one before it was pretty awful. In that one I was asked to renounce my belief in Christ and God  three different times. The first time I was a patient in a hospital and the nurse was torturing me and trying to get me renounce Christ (she morphed in a way that made me realize she was not human). The second part I don’t remember other than I was asked to renounce God again. And the third time, I was being tickled and poked in the ribs while being asked over and over again to renounce God.  These kind of dreams make for a good night’s sleep NOT.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Demon Dreams – Or Why I Don’t Watch Scary Movies”

RSS Feed for 70×7 Project Comments RSS Feed

Wow, that’s terrifying. We all have our own “demons”, whether or not that is a spiritual reality or just a human-based fear.

Your recent blog posts and your comment on my own log are right on the topics I’ll be addressing in a sermon (my first-ever in a big church) two Sundays from now.

While I’m sorry about your own struggles, I’m encouraged that if you and I share some of these things, then maybe others do too. And maybe we’ll all benefit from sharing about it.

[…] I could tell when I was drifting off to sleep last night that it was going to be another round of demon dreams if I didn’t do […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

